The Blue Boar Lane site was occupied by Boulton & Paul Sports Club from the 1940’s until its closure in 1986. Sprowston Lads Football Club was formed in 1978 and shared the use of the sports ground.
When Boulton & Paul left T S Industrial Roofing, under the chairmanship of Richard Shorten, took over the running of the sports ground. Richard and his company played a major part in maintaining the club, both then and well into its future, with donations of materials, expertise, man hours and finance.
In 1992, when the Gothic Social Club closed, the TS and Gothic Clubs combined their members and committees giving birth to Sprowston Sports and Social Club. Terry Toomer, a Sprowston resident, was elected as chairman and the Club’s aim was to become financially self-supporting by increasing its sports and social facilities. In 1993 The Valley Drive Social Club on Plumstead Road closed. The club house was dismantled and transported to our site and trebled the size of our social area and included a new bar. A new entrance hall and a new toilet block were soon added.
In 1994, part aided by a Littlewoods Pools grant, the artificial sports court with lighting was built.
In 2000, part aided by National Lottery and Broadland District Council grants, the full size bowling green was installed.
Over time other improvements include a new cellar, a petanque court, an upgrade of the changing rooms, an upgrade to the football pitch, car park improvements, a children’s play area, etc, etc.
All this has been achieved by the hard work and dedication of those very special people who have given, and who are currently giving, their time and expertise to create what we have today.
Sprowston Sports & Social Club is not run by any council, by any business or by any other body. This is truly unique. It was built and managed by its members, for its members and for the community. This ethic continues today.